Preparing for the BHF Warwick Half Marathon

As promised, here is my updated on the final week of training prior to a weeks minor taper before the BHF Warwick Half Marathon.

A couple of weeks ago, I ran 10 miles in 71 minutes (I think?). So I felt like my speedwork was in the right place, balanced nicely with my endurance training. I had also ran a 5k PB on 19:51 so I was quite confident going into this race.

I didn’t want to put too much on it as I definitely prefer the summer and will find training much more enjoyable when the sun is out. This race would be a good picture of where I currently am and what steps to take next.

Spin classes have become a staple of my training in recent weeks and I give them a lot of credit for improving my cadence and leg turnover. However, I may have been over doing it on the exercise slightly because the week before the race, I was unable to complete my local Parkrun due to hip pains.

I limped in through the front door and temporarily became a google doctor. Reading up about runners with similar pains I suspected I had Bursitis. An inflammation within the hip which was making each step a misery.
The only cure – rest. A runners nightmare.

I tried to look on the bright side… I needed a few days break as part of a taper before the Half Marathon and this could give me the motivation to resist going out for a cheeky 5k one evening.

Damn it’s tough not running. I’m pretty sure the sun came out every evening just to tease me. But I persevered. And ran the following weeks parkrun in 24:37. I felt like I had won the race. Not the shabbiest time and no hip pain.

I had also swallowed incredible amounts of anti inflammatory tablets throughout the week.

Also, I read avocados can help reduce inflamed areas. So I ate hundreds of them (well, kinda).

In summary:
I’m too young to get hip pain
I like avocados
Not running is harder than running

Have you ever struggled with an injury?

Do you know when to take a break or are you guilty of pushing through the pain too much?

1 last thing – I have started making protein pancakes. They taste amazing.

Protein Pancakes.jpg.jpg

1 more last thing – afternoon tea at Vinteas in Leamington.

Afternoon Tea.jpg.jpg

2 comments

  1. Ahh hip pain is annoying. I found spin really aggravated my IT band so I gave it up. There’s no way I was getting injured by doing something other than running. Fingers crossed you’ll be on the mend soon.
    On the plus side, WOW to your times – nice going :))

    1. Fortunately I have recovered! It was probably due to the week of rest but its much more fun telling people it was the magic of avocados…
      Do you do any cross training at all?

Leave a Reply

