Run / Life Balance

Throughout November and December last year I was experiencing a lot of pain in my hamstring so eventually decided to have a prolonged rest over the Xmas period.

Coming into the new year equipped with a new pair of trainers (Adidas Boston 4), I decided to clock up as many miles as I could in January. I need to get a reasonable level of fitness back before I embark on more quality training in February.

image

Fortunately, I’m able to work from home occasionally which allows me time for a cheeky lunchtime dash but most of the time a run will occur in the evenings. Now, a year ago I was able to escape the house whenever I wanted. I could go on longer runs if needed and had more freedom over where I ran. But since 11th Jan 2013, I had to change where / when I ran.

After Chloe was born it became more difficult to find the time to run and over the last few weeks this has become increasingly so. Trying to regain my fitness whilst trying to wrestle a tiger into pyjamas (Ok, a 1 year old – not a tiger but sometimes I swear its close…) can take its toll.

Its not all doom and gloom as I may have led you to believe! Yesterday we went to st nicks park in Warwick and after visiting The Bread Co for some soup and sandwiches we visited the park.

image

Some unusual lighting on the soup?! Egg mayo and cress sandwiches with a roasted red pepper soup. Incredible.

image

Look at her little face!

How do other parents / runners strike a balance?

What’s the best sandwich filling?

My team are currently ranked #104 in jantastic. Check it out @ http://www.jantastic.me

Leave a Reply

